Follow

Editing a Running Course

Overview

Not all courses have the edit option enabled. This setting must be enabled by the course owner/designer when the course is first created. Courses with editing enabled will display the Edit  button for the instructor in the upper right corner of the course page.

If you are the current instructor of a running course and you do not see the Edit button, then your course cannot be edited while the section is running except for the addition/deletion of Class Communication objects. To begin, click Edit. This will enable editing mode.

As an instructor, you will now see New Container and New Learning Object available on the right side of the course page.

From here, you may drag/drop in new Containers and Learning Objects. Objects may be added to existing containers, placed into new containers, or, dropped onto the course page without residing in a Container.

Adding New Containers

To add a Container, left click, hold and drag the New Container icon to the course page.

Once over the course page, you will see an area slide open where you may drop the new Container. Release the mouse to drop the container here. This is known as the Drop Zone. You may move the Container later if you wish.

When you release the Container over an active Drop Zone, the container will appear.

You may also add a Container to an existing Container in the same manner.

Adding Learning Objects

In Edit Mode, instructors may also add Learning Objects to a running course section. Learning Objects can be placed directly onto the course page, into existing containers, or, placed into newly created containers.

To add a new Learning Object, left click, hold and drag the New Learning Object icon to the course page.

Drop the Learning Object where you want it onto the course page. You can always move it later if you wish. Once created, the object will display as grayed out, with the word Draft in the upper right corner. It will remain this way while you edit it, until you publish the object to students. Click once on the New Learning Object title to rename the object.

Click once on the New Learning Object title to rename the object. Once the default name is highlighted, type in a new, descriptive name for the object and press Enter to save the name.

Editing Learning Objects

Click on the Learning Object to open it for editing. You now have the full range of tools available, as well as the Student Content area where you can add and configure content, Instructor Content area where the instructor can create content only visible to instructors, and the Designer Content area where notes may be left regarding design elements of the course. Only the Student Content area is visible to students in the course.

The object Toolbox is a set of tools which allow additional customization of the object. For an in-depth description of the tools and how they function, please see the BlueQuill Design manual located here:

Configuring Learning Objects: The Basics

The Toolbox includes seven object configuration tools which can be enabled/disabled while the instructor is in course edit mode.

CAUTION: The Edit Course feature allows for immediate editing of running course sections. All changes made to existing Learning Objects by the instructor while in Edit Course mode are permanent and will be automatically deployed to students without publishing. Please use this feature with caution as overall course point totals, total hours, etc. may all be altered!

Pay particular attention when deleting items which are scored/graded! Deleting an assignment will also remove any previously entered score/points and remove the assignment from the GradeGrid. You will not be able to re-add the scores/points once you delete an assignment object!

Tools include:

Date: Toggle this tool to enable an assignment/object due date and use the drop-down menus under the Date tool to set a date.

Score: The Score tool allows an instructor to assign/remove points in an object/assignment.

Discuss: This tool allows the instructor to enable/disable discussions, edit existing discussion threads and create new topics.

Submit: The Submit tool creates an entry in the DropBox for students to upload assignments. If you disable this tool after students have uploaded files, the files will no longer be visible for download.

Meet: The Meet tool enables/disables online meet sessions.

Assess: The Assess tool allows an instructor to enable/disable an assessment.

Integrate: The Integrate tool allows an instructor to utilize third party tools such as TestCraft or for LTI integration.

In addition, an instructor may choose additional options. Hide From Students will prevent the object from being shown to students. This should not be checked if the object contains information relevant to students and/or requires student participation.

Time Estimation allows the instructor to indicate how much time, in hours, the activities in the object are estimated to complete the student requirements.

Publishing Learning Objects

Once the instructor has finished editing objects, the object will need to be published to the students before they can see the changes.

If the instructor has made changes but is not ready to publish the object to the students, the instructor can also save the object as a draft. This will save all of the object changes/content but will NOT publish the object to students.

To publish an object, open the object while in Edit Course mode.

Click Publish To Students

You will receive a confirmation message that the changes have been published.

Closing the Edit Course Mode

When you are finished editing the course and have no more changes to publish to students, close the edit mode to return to the regular course page.

To close Edit Mode, click Close Edit Mode.

Now, in the normal course view, the only objects that instructors can add, remove or edit while the course is running are Class Communication objects.

To add Learning Objects, containers, or to edit content, the instructor must return to the Edit Course mode.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments